You are here
Masks required to be worn in the lobby of the OSBI HQ and the Forensic Science Center
Effective July 20, 2020, masks are required to be worn by all persons entering the lobby of OSBI Headquarters and the OSBI Forensic Science Center.
UPDATE to In-person Services
Effective May 6, 2020, the OSBI will re-open its lobby on a limited basis to allow individuals to conduct in-person background checks and SDA business. Lobby hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. The number of individuals in the lobby will be limited, there may be wait times outside of the building. Please consider using our online background check system, CHIRP (https://chirp.osbi.ok.gov/), or find handgun licensing information at https://osbi.ok.gov/handgun-licensing.
Effective May 6, 2020, the OSBI will resume fingerprint services for individuals by appointment only (please call 405-879-2999 for an appointment). This service is ONLY available to individuals whose fingerprints have been previously rejected twice by the OSBI. Individuals entering the OSBI lobby for fingerprinting will be required to wear a self-provided mask and have their temperature taken. Only the individual being fingerprinted will be allowed in the building.
The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation is the state repository for all criminal history information. Information from the OSBI's repository is available to the public.
The Oklahoma Open Records Act was established to ensure and facilitate the public's right of access to and review of government records. The privacy interests of individuals are adequately protected in the specific exceptions to the Oklahoma Open Records Act or in the Statutes, which create or require the records. Pursuant to the Oklahoma Open Records Act, Title 51 § 24.A.5.2, all requests for criminal history record information must include at least the full name and date of birth of the subject to be searched. Additional identifiers such as aliases (i.e. maiden names, nicknames) and social security numbers, if known, should be provided resulting in a more complete search of the OSBI Criminal History Record files.
How to Request Criminal History Records
For quickest results, visit our NEW online criminal history request portal - CHIRP - by clicking here.
Fill out the Criminal History Request Form.
Submit the request either by FAX (405-879-2503), mail or in-person to:
- Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
- 6600 N. Harvey
- Oklahoma City, OK 73116
Acceptable forms of payment are cash (in person only), cashier's check, money order, or credit card. FAX requests are credit card only.
If you submit the request by mail, please include a postage-paid envelope.
Fees for Requests
OSBI Criminal History Database*
Name-Based - $15.00
Fingerprint-Based - $19.00
*OSBI fees based on Title 74 § 150.9
Department of Corrections (DOC) Database*
Violent Offender - $2.00
Sex Offender - $2.00
*Note: The Sex Offender and Violent Offender databases are maintained by the Oklahoma DOC, however, you may request a search from the OSBI.