You are here
Masks required to be worn in the lobby of the OSBI HQ and the Forensic Science Center
Effective July 20, 2020, masks are required to be worn by all persons entering the lobby of OSBI Headquarters and the OSBI Forensic Science Center.
UPDATE to In-person Services
Effective May 6, 2020, the OSBI will re-open its lobby on a limited basis to allow individuals to conduct in-person background checks and SDA business. Lobby hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. The number of individuals in the lobby will be limited, there may be wait times outside of the building. Please consider using our online background check system, CHIRP (https://chirp.osbi.ok.gov/), or find handgun licensing information at https://osbi.ok.gov/handgun-licensing.
Effective May 6, 2020, the OSBI will resume fingerprint services for individuals by appointment only (please call 405-879-2999 for an appointment). This service is ONLY available to individuals whose fingerprints have been previously rejected twice by the OSBI. Individuals entering the OSBI lobby for fingerprinting will be required to wear a self-provided mask and have their temperature taken. Only the individual being fingerprinted will be allowed in the building.
SDA and 'Constitutional Carry'
Q: Can I continue to renew my SDA license after Constitutional Carry goes into effect Nov. 1?
A: Yes, you can continue to obtain or renew your license in Oklahoma after Nov. 1.
Q: After Constitutional Carry goes into effect on Nov. 1, am I able to get a license to carry a gun in Oklahoma?
A: Yes, you can still go through the process to obtain a license after Nov. 1. Oklahoma has reciprocal agreements with other states that recognize Oklahoma’s permit in their state. If you choose to not get a permit in Oklahoma and you travel to a state that requires a permit to carry open or concealed, then you are subject to the laws of that state.
Q: Can I be reimbursed for the fees to obtain or renew my SDA carry license?
A: All fees previously incurred to obtain or renew a license in Oklahoma are non-refundable.
TITLE 21 § 1290.3 AUTHORITY TO ISSUE LICENSE
The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation is hereby authorized to license an eligible person to carry a concealed or unconcealed handgun as provided by the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. The authority of the Bureau shall be limited to the provisions specifically provided in the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. The Bureau shall promulgate rules, forms, and procedures necessary to implement the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.
Click ---> Check Application Status online!
Sheriffs have 14 days to submit completed applications to the OSBI. OSBI has 60-90 days to complete the processing of applications.
Click ---> Request Application by mail
Applications are also available at all county sheriffs' offices and on this page.
Click ---> SDA and Medical Marijuana.pdf
If you have or plan on applying for an Oklahoma SDA license, and you have or are obtaining an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Patient License, please read the above document.